Defense Meritorious Service Medal


SKU: N/A Categories: , , , , ,

The Secretary of Defense presents the Defense Meritorious Service Medal (DMSM) award to the Armed Forces members. This is the third-highest award that the Department of Defense issues. This award honors the personnel who carry out outstanding service in a non-combat context at the joint assignment with the Department of Defense. The bronze medal features an eagle in front of a pentagon and is encircled with two laurel wreaths.

  • Type:

    Medal (Decoration)

  • Awarded for:

    Non-combat outstanding achievement or meritorious service.

  • Presented by:

    United States Department of Defense

  • Eligibility:

    Any member of the U.S. Armed Forces or any member of the armed forces of a friendly foreign nation

  • Status:

    Currently awarded

  • Established:

    Executive Order 12019, November 3, 1977

    Amended by Executive Order 13666, April 18, 2014

  • First awarded:

    November 3rd, 1977