Outstanding Airman of the Year Ribbon

This ribbon is awarded to enlisted airmen nominated by the major commands (MAJCOMs), field operating agencies (FOAs), and direct reporting units (DRUs) to HQ AFPC Special Trophies and Awards Office for competition in the 12 Outstanding Airmen of the Year (12 OAY) Program. Only one ribbon is awarded. The 12 members selected as the Air Force Outstanding Airmen of the Year will wear a bronze service star, centered on the ribbon, retroactive to June 1970.